Anxiety Diary #4: Humidity

Anxiety Diary 4 Humidity

I’m worried that this new series may make it seem like I’m afraid of everything now (HUMIDITY? Really?) but one thing I’ve learned about anxiety and panic is how PHYSICAL it is. It’s not just a bundle of worries that are “all in your head.”

The inside of my head has become fairly calm most of the time, thanks to therapy and the simple passage of time. But there are still some external things that trigger me and set off reactions in my mind and body, like swampy humid air. What was once a minor annoyance now makes me feel dizzy and disoriented. I start sweating, shaking, gasping for air, then choking, which means I will fall down and die if I don’t get home RIGHT NOW, INSTANTLY! And that’s a panic attack.

2 thoughts on “Anxiety Diary #4: Humidity

  1. It was 40 degrees C with the humidity today where I live (apparently that’s over 100 degrees Fahrenheit?) And I have the exact same reaction to the humidity. I was only outside for a few minutes, walking from my car to class, and yet the stifling heat made me feel like I was choking and unable to breath. Not fun!

Leave a Reply

