Illustration Friday: “Sweater”

On my last few trips to the library, I’ve spotted about four novels by three different authors with knitting as the theme, more specifically a ladies’ knitting club. Two were romance novels, one was chick lit, and the other was a mystery. The mystery intrigued me at first, but after skimming the pages, I concluded that knitting was only there as a gimmick to appeal to… women who like to knit. You could have replaced the knitting club with flower arranging or drag racing and it would be the same book. Also, is knitting even interesting to read about? Maybe if it’s about a gang of Knittin’ Kninjas who cover their victims in full-body cable sweaters before they can blink or say, “Hey, I’m allergic to wool!” I might read that…

2 thoughts on “Illustration Friday: “Sweater”

  1. I am an avid knitter, and I love to read mysteries, but I really hate ‘knitting mysteries.’ Except for Miss Marple, of course. The knitting isn’t contrived in the Christie books.
    Absolutely love this illustration! Maybe if a mystery writer started with this for the cover, the story would be better.

Leave a Reply

