My CurateNYC Entry: “Bodybuilder”

Bodybuilder

So this is my entry for CurateNYC, an exhibition that will be seen in four locations throughout the city from Oct. 21-31. You could submit only one 5×6″ postcard-size image.

I wanted to call my picture “Unnnngggh!” but I went with the more conventional “Bodybuilder” and in fact it’s a portrait of my bodybuildin’ friend Mephy, drawn as she dead-lifted a 225 lb. barbell. Months later, I thought she looked like a Japanese demon, which she would enjoy, being a huge lover of Japan and its culture. But I wouldn’t know for sure, because I lost her new phone number and it’s difficult to find her on the Internet. So if you’re out there, I hope this grants at least one of your wishes, to live forever as an oni that’s totally diesel!

One thought on “My CurateNYC Entry: “Bodybuilder”

Leave a Reply

